Paying tax as a resident when working outside Japan

Hi,
My wife (Japanese national) and I (French national) have recently moved to Japan. I am on a spouse of Japanese national visa.

However, we will be working abroad for a few months (up to a year), in the Republic of Palau, and were wordering if people had information on how things work for taxes in this case.
We will most likely have to open a bank account in a US bank.

We’re wondering if it’s best/simpler to just give up on residency and declare that we are leaving Japan, even if this is only for a few months, or if it’s possible/recommended to maintain residency in this case.

The other issue is that we have a flat in France, which means that French tax services consider us to be fiscal residents in France. There is a fiscal convention between Japan and France, but none with Palau.
We’re not sure what would be best in this case, to avoid double or triple taxation.

Thanks for your advice!
b

I’m not a tax expert, but if you spend less than 6 months of the calendar year in Japan, you won’t become a Japan tax resident, you’ll either remain a tax resident of France or become a tax resident of Palau. Visa status and tax status are not the same thing, although the exact measure that the Japan tax authorities use (as with most countries) is a little complicated. Time spent in the country is the number one consideration, but they also consider things like family, properties you own etc. Either way, if you’ve only been here a short time, Japan is not going to suddenly force you to pay tax here. Also, just to reiterate, I’m not a tax expert!

Thanks.

We got this confirmed at the tax office. Apparently it depends on intent - if the intent is to work outside Japan for over a year, then you are not taxed in Japan, but locally. We need to check what happens to local taxes, shiminzei etc.